BOARD MINUTES

Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation January 27, 2022

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on January 27, 2022 at 5:30 P.M. in the administration building. Members present were Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Corey Potts and Superintendent Branden Roeder. Also present were Mason Taylor, Dena Taylor, and Harry Taylor.

The meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Board recognized Mason Taylor, Lilly Endowment Scholarship Recipient for 2022. Mason will receive a full-tuition scholarship for 4 years. The Board congratulated him on being chosen as the Lilly Scholarship Recipient.

Mr. Roeder recommended adoption of the agenda with the additions of a change to the Classified Salary Schedule and appointments to the Library Board. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the agenda, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Minutes for December 9, 2021 meeting were reviewed. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Claims were reviewed. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the claims as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Connie Smith nominated Corey Potts as board president for 2022 and Gary Kinnett as vice-president. Renee Cole nominated Connie Smith as board secretary for 2022. Andrea Kirkpatrick seconded the nominations. Members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

The Superintendent recommended appointing Kelli Keith as Board Treasurer and Karen Lovern as Deputy Treasurer for 2022, a state required action. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Members signed Conflict of Interest Statements which are on file.

Mr. Roeder recommended voiding the list of outstanding checks that are over two years old. (Attached) Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended that the mileage rate for 2022 change to \$0.585 per mile which is the same as the IRS approved rate per mile. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented the following list of treasurer bonds for Board approval.

Jane Angst - \$50,000 Debbie Gregory - \$50,000 Kelli Keith (School) - \$500,000 Rebecca Lawwill - \$50,000 DeAnn Lillie - \$50,000 Karen Lovern - \$250,000 Tracy Stegemiller - \$50,000 Aryn Webster - \$50,000

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the bonds, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

By consensus, members agreed the Board meetings for 2022 will be held on the second Tuesday of each month.

Mr. Roeder recommended the following for ECA positions:

Denton Simpson and Chris Berkley – Middle School Baseball Jennifer Mossburger – Assistant Middle School Swim Coach Tim Phelps – Summer Program Director

Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the recommendations, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Taylor Bruce as a full-time substitute. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended approval of Samantha Mink's maternity leave request. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

The Superintendent presented Resolution 2022-1 which grants the treasurer the ability to move appropriations within the same fund as needed for 2022. (Copy attached) Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve Resolution 2022-1, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

The Superintendent presented Resolution 2022-2 which allows a maximum 14.9% of the state tuition support to be transferred from the Education Fund to the Operations Fund one time per month. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole to approve Resolution 2022-2, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended re-appointing Connie Smith and Tammy Weaver to the Ohio County Library Board. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the

recommendation, members voted as follows:	Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick,	Renee Cole,	Connie Smith,	Gary
Kinnett, and Corey Potts.				

Mr. Roeder recommended approval of a revised Classified Staff Handbook reflecting a change in the amount for the Ivy Tech bus route. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

By consensus, the next scheduled board meeting will be February 15, 2022.

	•		· ·	•	
not d		_		unty Community S topic specified in th	chool Corporation did ne public notice.

BOARD of FINANCE MINUTES Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation January 27, 2022

The Board of Finance meeting of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation was held as advertised on January 27, 2022 at 5:50 P.M. in the administration building. Members present were Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Corey Potts and Superintendent Branden Roeder.

The original date for this meeting was January 13, 2022. However, due to COVID-19 concerns, the meeting was forced to be rescheduled.

Renee Cole made a motion for the officers of the Board of Finance for 2022 to be the same as the officers for the School Board. Andrea Kirkpatrick seconded the nominations. Members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder noted there were no investments to review.

Mr. Roeder presented a newly released report from the DUAB team. This shows the corporation's financial health pertaining to certain indicators created by this team.

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to	3
P.M., members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Renee C	ole, and Andrea Kirkpatrick,
and Corey Potts.	