BOARD MINUTES

Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation June 21, 2022

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on June 21, 2022 at 6:35 P.M. in the administration building. Members present were Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Corey Potts and Superintendent Branden Roeder. Also present was Beth Terrill.

Meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Connie Smith made a motion to adopt the agenda as presented, and it was seconded by Gary Kinnett. Members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

There were no public comments. Corey Potts noted that the Board always welcomes and values public input.

The minutes for May 9, 2022 and June 9, 2022 meetings were reviewed. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith and Corey Potts.

Claims were reviewed. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the claims as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Connie Smith and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended accepting resignations from Jared Tucker, Angelica Hopkins, Corey Lay, and Sally Weales. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Renee Cole to accept the resignations, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Corey Potts and Gary Kinnett.

Mr. Roeder recommended Yolanda White as a 7-hour cafeteria worker at OCEMS. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Brent Turner as middle school Science teacher, Hannah Ozbun as 6th grade teacher, and Patrick Jones as high school SLD teacher. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Corey Potts, Renee Cole, Connie Smith and Andrea Kirkpatrick.

Mr. Roeder recommended the following for Extracurricular positions for 2022-2023:

Christina Rumsey and Deb Cappel – Prom Sponsors Kevin Wirsch - High School SADD Kevin Smith –RSHS National Honor Society Alex Koons – Freshman Class Sponsor Christina Rumsey – Sophomore Class Sponsor Angie Wilson – High School Choir Director Mike Seipel and Amanda Sexton – Language Club Elinor Kelnhofer – FCCLA Kevin Smith – High School Student Council Jana McKinley – Flag Corps Sponsor Kevin Smith, Carol Stapleton and Amy Todd – Senior Class Sponsor/Senior Trip

Andrea Levi – Junior Class Sponsor

Jane Angst – HS Concessions

Carol Stapleton – Yearbook Advisor

Megan Volk – Band Director

Abby Friend - Letterwinners

Andrea Levi and Jaron Bovard – HS Academic Team

Amberly King – Art Club

Angie Wilson, Emily Warner, and Carrie Fisk – HS Drama Club

Angie Wilson and Lindsey Merica – MS Drama Club

Brandon Snodgrass - Varsity Boys' Basketball

Brandon Turner – Assistant Varsity Boys' Basketball

Abby Friend – Varsity Girls' Basketball

Jessica Peelman – Assistant Varsity Girls' Basketball

Lucy Carrigan – C Team Girls' Basketball

Andrea Halloran – Varsity Swim

Heather Cook and Kaitlyn Waldon – Varsity Cheer

Brandon Snodgrass – Middle School Cross Country

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendations, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented a request from Amanda Sexton to transfer all of her accrued sick days from her previous school at one time. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the request, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented a maternity leave request from Kelsey Billups. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the leave, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended raising the summer camp salary for college students to the lowest paraprofessional rate. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder requested permission to carry over 4 vacation days to the next fiscal year. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the request, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented the 2022-2023 revised student handbooks for a second reading and approval. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the 2022-2023 student handbooks, members voted as follows: Aye – Corey Potts, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick and Connie Smith.

Mr. Roeder recommended textbook fees for 2022-2023 be capped at \$105.00 for grades K-8 and high school fees based on courses taken. He noted that the 2021-2022 textbook fees were \$30.00 because the corporation used ESSER Grant Funds to help offset the fees for one year only. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the fees for 2022-2023, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended a 2022-2023 Back to School Plan for approval. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the Plan, members voted as follows: Aye – Corey Potts, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Connie Smith and Andrea Kirkpatrick.

Mr. Roeder recommended Bus Routes for the 2022-2023 year for approval. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Gary Kinnett, members voted as follows: Aye – Corey Potts, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Andrea Kirkpatrick.

Mr. Roeder discussed the 2023 budget calendar. The plan it to have 2 meetings in September to meet the state requirements.

The next school board meeting will be July 19, 2022.

Mr. Roeder updated the Board on all of the school safety updates the corporation has implemented in the past decade.

The Board of School Trustees of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation did not discuss any subject matter in executive session other than the topic specified in the public notice.

± •	led by Andrea Kirkpatrick to adjourn the meeting at Kinnett, Corey Potts, Connie Smith, Renee Cole and
Andrea Kirkpatrick.	Trimett, Corey Totto, Comme Simili, Tenec Core und