## **BOARD MINUTES**

## Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation December 9, 2021

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on December 9, 2021 at 6:50 P.M. in the Administration Building. Members present were Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Corey Potts and Superintendent Branden Roeder. Also present was Beth Terrill.

Meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance.

The agenda was presented for adoption. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the agenda as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

The minutes from the November 11, 2021 meeting were reviewed. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

The claims were presented for approval. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the claims as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented resignations from Kelsey Billups, varsity track coach and Ken DeDreu , varsity volleyball coach. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the resignations, members voted as follows: Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

## Mr. Roeder recommended the following:

Hannah Ozbun – Paraprofessional

Michelle Beutel – OCEMS Cafeteria Worker

Paula Washnock – RSHS Cafeteria Worker

Nick Levi/Tiffany Vinup – Co-Middle School Softball Coaches

Aryn Webster - Middle School Girls' Track Coach

Jennifer Parsons - MS Boys' Track Coach

Ashley Bowling – Elementary Running Club Sponsor

Kevin Wirsch - Varsity Baseball Coach

Brandon Turner/Steve Jiminez – Co-Assistant Varsity Baseball Coaches

Ken DeDreu – Varsity Softball Coach

Alan Poling – Assistant Varsity Softball Coach

Robert Kelnhofer - Varsity Track Coach

Mike Seipel – Varsity Golf Coach

Tammy Weaver – Mentor to Samantha Thies

Angie Wilson – Mentor to Emmalea Musselman – Half year

Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendations, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder stated that there may be a need for a 1-1 paraprofessional at the high school before the next school board meeting. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett to grant permission for Mr. Roeder to hire for this position before the next meeting, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts. Mr. Roeder will keep the board informed of any developments with this position.

Mr. Roeder presented the In-Person Instruction Plans for review. This is a mandate to qualify for CARES Act Funding. There are no changes to the plans. The plans are posted on the corporation website.

Mr. Roeder proposed hiring CIESC to implement a professional development plan at OCEMS. CIESC will work with teachers four days per month for the next five years at a cost of approximately \$25,000 per year. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Connie Smith to approve the proposal, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Next meeting – January 13, 2021 at 6:30.

Mr. Roeder gave a brief project update. Projects that have been completed include: delivery of new tractor, projection screen project complete at RSHS, and the playground project completed at OCEMS. He stated that the OCEMS gym sound system project has been delayed due to supply chain delays. The Board discussed the need for various sounds systems including one for the high school drama program.

The Board of School Trustees of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation did not discuss any subject matter in executive session other than the topic specified in the public notice.

<u>.</u>	seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to adjourn the meeting at
/:04 P.M., members voted as follows: Aye	- Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee
Cole, and Corey Potts.	
•	
<del></del>	<del></del>
<del></del>	· <del></del> -