BOARD MINUTES Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation December 12, 2019

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on December 12, 2019 at 5:00 PM in the administration building. Members present were Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Superintendent Branden Roeder. Also in attendance was Tim Hillman. Board President Corey Potts arrived later.

The meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance.

There were no changes to the Agenda.

Minutes for the November 7, 2019 Board Meeting were reviewed. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye –Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Gary Kinnett.

Claims were reviewed. After a brief discussion, upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the claims, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Gary Kinnett.

Board President Corey Potts arrival to the meeting was approximately 5:07 PM.

The Board recognized AJ Boes as the 2019-2020 Lilly Scholarship recipient.

Mr. Roeder presented the classified salary schedule adding the substitute custodian position. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the classified salary schedule, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented the NEOLA updates for a second reading. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to accept the updates as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented Resolution 2019-4 and an Operating Agreement concerning the Southeastern Career Center. (Included) Madison Consolidated Schools is withdrawing at the end of the school year causing the need to update the bylaws for the Career Center. The resolution and agreement also address the issue of homeschool student and nonmember school costs. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Connie Smith to accept the resolution and agreement, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended the next meeting be January 9, 2020 with a 5:30 executive session and a 6:00 public meeting.

The Board of School Trustees of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation did not discuss any subject matter in executive session other than the topic specified in the public notice.

Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith to adjourn the meeting at 5:15 PM, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.
