BOARD MINUTES Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation September 12, 2019

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on September 12, 2019 at 6:35 P.M. in the administration building. Members present were Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Corey Potts, and Superintendent Branden Roeder.

Meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Mr. Roeder recommended Adoption of the Agenda. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Renee Cole to accept the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Minutes for the August 13, 2019 Board Meeting were reviewed. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Claims were reviewed. Mr. Roeder noted that the OCEMS electric bill was less than usual due to the new solar panels. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the claims as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

The Public Hearing on the Budget was held as advertised. The budget has been sent to the DLGF and is posted on the school website. There were no public comments regarding the budget.

The Public Hearing on the Bus Replacement Plan and Capital Projects Plan were held as advertised. There were no public comments on either plan.

A Public Hearing on the TRF Savings Plan was held. The Governor proposed and legislature passed the funding of the 2% of TRF that was previously funded by the School Corporation. The dollar amount saved by the school is \$56,754, and the savings will be used toward teacher salaries. There were no public comments on the TRF Savings Plan.

The Superintendent presented the following resignations:

Teresa George-Prom Corey Lay – Middle School Boys' Basketball Samantha White – Paraprofessional

Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the resignations, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

The Superintendent recommended the following ECA personnel for 2019-2020:

Christina Rumsey/Deb Cappel – Prom Amy Todd – Senior Trip Tonia Minks/Angie Wilson – MS Drama Club

Andrea Levi/Jennifer Mossburger – MS Academic Team Patty Huff - MS Student Council Jaron Bovard - MS National Junior Honor Society Jennifer Mossburger – Elementary Spell Bowl Lindsey Merica - MS Spell Bowl Lindsey Merica – MS Lego Robotics Barb Smith – Archery Mary Jo Rowell - MS Concessions Kevin Wirsch-Varsity Baseball Steve Jimenez/Brandon Turner-Assistant Baseball Ken DeDreu-Varsity Softball Alan Poling-Assistant Softball Kelsie Billups-HS Track **Robert Kelnhofer-Assistant HS Track** Mike Seipel-Golf Donnie Bovard-7th Grade Boys' Basketball Justice White-Volunteer MS Basketball

Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole to accept the recommendations, members voted as follows: Aye –Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Amy Todd, Carol Stapleton, Jennifer Mossburger, and Barb Smith for Fall Intersession. He recommended Jason Barth and Kelsie Billups for Spring Intersession. He recommended Kayla Self for the open paraprofessional position. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the recommendations, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Jason Merica and Bill Hamilton as volunteer high school baseball coaches. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented the school improvement plans for OCEMS and RSHS. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Renee Cole to accept the plans, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented the Teacher Appreciation Grant Policy. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Gary Kinnett to approve the policy, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented the property and casualty insurance renewal which reflects a 4% increase. Mr. Roeder stated that this is a very good rate. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to accept the insurance rate, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

The Board of School Trustees of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation did not discuss any subject matter in executive session other than the topic specified in the public notice.

Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Connie Smith to adjourn the meeting at 6:55 P.M., members voted as follows: Aye –Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.
